Skip to main content
Image

L’Hospitalet de Gazin

2nd wine of Château Gazin

Appellation

Pomerol

Owner

SCEA Château Gazin

Vineyard size

26 hectares

Vineyard grape varietals

90% Merlot – 7% Cabernet Sauvignon – 3% Cabernet Franc

Soil types

Gunzian gravel, subsoil of green and blue clay with iron oxides

Download the technical sheet

Château Gazin is situated on the site of the former “Hospital de Pomeyrols,” which was constructed in the 12th century by the knights of Saint-Jean de Jérusalem to welcome pilgrims on their way to St Jacques de Compostelle. The property is owned by the Bailliencourt dit Courcol family, descendants from the high lords of Landas, one of the oldest families of the Artois (north of France), whose crest they bear. The surname “dit Courcol” («known as Courcol») dates back to 1214, when Philippe-Auguste, King of France, congratulated one of the members of the family for his exploits during the Battle of Bouvines, calling him «court col» (literally «short neck»). The family motto became: «fut par vertu Courcol» (“became Courcol through virtue”).

Château Gazin is located on the north-eastern part of the Pomerol plateau, between Châteaux Petrus and Lafleur-Gazin, on a terroir of Gunzian gravel with a subsoil of blue and green clay with iron oxides. The vineyard is managed with an environmentally friendly approach: ploughing, organic fertilizers, minimum use of pesticides, mating disruption, manual harvests…

Traditional techniques and modern knowledge are applied in equal measure both in the vineyard and in the winery, to ensure consistent high quality and expression of terroir. After the manual harvest, the grapes are vinified in small concrete tanks before being aged for 18 months in oak barrels.

L’hospitalet de Gazin, the second wine of Château Gazin, has been produced since 1986 from the fruit of younger vines. An elegant, supple, charming wine, it can be enjoyed after just a few years in bottle.

Image
Image

Fr | En

Hospitalet de Gazin, Château Gazin, Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite

L’HOSPITALET DE GAZIN
2ème vin de Château Gazin

Appellation :
Pomerol
Propriétaire :
SCEA Château Gazin
Surface plantée :
26 hectares
Encépagement :
90% Merlot – 7% Cabernet Sauvignon – 3% Cabernet Franc 
Types de sols :
Graves Gunziennes sur argiles bleues et vertes

Le Château Gazin est situé à l’emplacement de « L’Hospital de Pomeyrols », qui fut construit par les chevaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem au XIIème siècle pour accueillir les pèlerins en route vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. La propriété appartient à la famille Bailliencourt dit Courcol, descendants des hauts sires de Landas, l’une des plus anciennes familles de l’Artois (Nord de la France), dont ils portent le blason.  Le surnom de « Courcol » (court col) a été donné à l’un des leurs par Philippe-Auguste, Roi de France, en 1214, pour fait d’armes au cours de la bataille de Bouvines. Il a constitué depuis lors la devise familiale : « fut par vertu Courcol ».

Château Gazin est situé sur la partie nord-est du plateau de Pomerol, entre les Châteaux Pétrus et Lafleur-Gazin, sur un terroir de graves Gunziennes et d’argiles bleues et vertes avec oxides de fer. Les vignes sont cultivées de façon traditionnelle dans le plein respect de l’environnement : labours, engrais organiques, lutte raisonnée contre les ravageurs de la vigne, « confusion sexuelle », vendanges manuelles…

A la vigne comme au chai, le plus grand respect de la tradition est allié aux techniques modernes afin d’assurer une qualité constante et la pleine expression de ce terroir exceptionnel. La récolte est vinifiée dans des petites cuves en ciment et est ensuite élevée pendant 18 mois en barriques de chêne.

Un second vin, L’Hospitalet de Gazin, fut créé en 1986 pour permettre de séparer les lots provenant de parcelles plus jeunes et d’exprimer la typicité de la partie limoneuse de ce beau vignoble.

Les vins sont souples et élégants, toujours prêts à charmer les palais connaisseurs du monde entier.

Hospitalet de Gazin, Château Gazin, Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite Hospitalet de Gazin, Château Gazin, Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite