Fr | En

Château Lafleur Pomerol, Pensées de Lafleur, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite

PENSÉES DE LAFLEUR
2nd wine of Château Lafleur

Appellation :
Pomerol
Owner:
SCEA Guinaudeau
Vineyard size:
0.8 hectare (1.97 acre)
Vineyard grape varietals:
50% Merlot – 50% Cabernet Franc
Soil types:
Gravelly-clayey sand

Pensées de Lafleur, originally conceived as the second wine of Château Lafleur, became a cru in its own right starting in the early 2000s.

The tiny vineyard of Lafleur traces its origin back to 1872, when M. Greloud, owner of Château Le Gay, purchased a few hectares neighboring his vineyard as they became available. He soon realised the exceptional quality of these soils and decided to vinify them separately, thus giving birth to Château Lafleur.

An icon of the appellation, the wines made from this vineyard owe their reputation to the incredible complexity of the terroir: a veritable patchwork of soils and sub-soils of different gravels, loess and clays marked by an iron-rich sublayer. The careful attention of the Guinaudeau family, descendants of the visionary M. Greloud, has ensured the wine’s rank at the top of Bordeaux’ greats.

Planted with a high percentage of Cabernet Franc for the appellation, the vineyard is maintained like a garden, plot by plot, in order to produce grapes of optimal ripeness. The parcels dedicated to Pensées de Lafleur are sandier on the surface and less gravelly than the parcels intended for Lafleur. Their subsoil, however, is deeper and richer, with an important presence of ferric clay. Less precocious than most of the Lafleur parcels, the fruit is usually harvested later as well. Pensées de Lafleur enjoys the same vinification and aging methods as Lafleur: vinification, which is above all gentle and respectful of the fruit, takes place in small concrete vats; the wine is then aged in oak barrels, half of which are renewed each year.

Combining finesse and complexity, Pensées de Lafleur is a rare wine prized by amateurs the world over due to the very limited quantities produced.

Château Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive DroiteChâteau Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive DroiteChâteau Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite

Fr | En

Pensées de Lafleur

Pensées de Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite

PENSÉES DE LAFLEUR
2ème vin de Château Lafleur

Appellation :
Pomerol
Propriétaire :
SCEA Guinaudeau
Surface plantée :
0.8 hectare
Encépagement :
50% Merlot – 50% Cabernet Franc
Types de sols :
Sables argilo-graveleux

Pensées de Lafleur, d’abord conçu comme le second vin de Château Lafleur, est devenu depuis les années 2000 un cru à part entière.

La naissance de Château Lafleur remonte à 1872, lorsque Monsieur Greloud, propriétaire de Château Le Gay et aïeul de Jacques Guinaudeau, se porte acquéreur auprès de Monsieur Bernier. Persuadé de l’exceptionnelle qualité des sols, il concentre dès lors tous ses efforts à l’excellence de ses vins.

La complexité légendaire de ce vignoble provient de la grande diversité de ses sols : graves mêlées soit à du sable soit à de l’argile sur des sous-sols gravelo-argileux, sablo-argileux, et parfois pseudogley. Grâce au travail méticuleux de Sylvie et Jacques Guinaudeau, aidés par leur fils Baptiste et son épouse Julie, les vins expriment la profondeur et la complexité naturelle de ce cru quel que soit le millésime.

Le vignoble, planté avec une proportion importante de Cabernets Francs, est maintenu avec grande attention afin de produire des raisins qui atteindront une maturité optimale et exprimeront parfaitement le terroir remarquable dont ils sont issus. Les parcelles qui sont dédiées à Pensées de Lafleur se trouvent sur un sol en surface sablo-limoneux, moins graveleux que les vignes dédiées à Lafleur. Leur sous-sol, par contre, est plus profond et plus riche avec une présence notable d’argile et de crasse de fer. Moins précoce que les autres sols de Lafleur, le fruit est vendangé plus tardivement. Pensées de Lafleur bénéficie des mêmes méthodes de vinification et d’élevage que le Château Lafleur : les vinifications se font dans de petites cuves en béton et l’élevage dans des barriques de chêne renouvelées pour moitié chaque année.

Vin initiatique, Pensées de Lafleur allie finesse et complexité. Les très petites quantités produites font de ce cru un vin rare assez difficile à acquérir.

Château Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive DroiteChâteau Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive DroiteChâteau Lafleur Pomerol, Exclusivité Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix Negociant Rive Droite