Skip to main content
Image

Château La Fleur-Pétrus

Appellation

Pomerol

Vineyard size

18.7 hectares (45.8 acres)

Vineyard grape varietals

91% Merlot – 6% Cabernet Franc – 3% Petit Verdot

Soil types

Gravel and deep clay on iron-rich subsoil

Download the technical sheet

Château La Fleur-Pétrus is one of the most renowned vineyards of Pomerol. This historic estate, situated exclusively on the plateau, was named in the 18th century for its position across the localities ‘Petrus’ and ‘La Fleur’. Established in Libourne since 1937, Jean-Pierre Moueix perceived early on the excellent quality of the Pomerol appellation. Château La Fleur-Pétrus was his very first acquisition in 1950. Quickly after, he purchased Château Trotanoy in 1953.

The personality of Château La Fleur-Pétrus lies in the careful association of the famous gravel and clay terroirs of the plateau of Pomerol. The vineyard, located at 33 to 38 meters above sea level, draws its identity from the nuances of soil and elevation of each parcel. Those parcels which are dominated by gravel tend to yield wines of great elegance, while those dominated by clay are distinctly velvety, dense, and structured.  

Château La Fleur-Pétrus is composed predominantly of Merlot, which lends silkiness and generosity to the wine. Cabernet Franc, planted on gravel and fine clay, contributes rigor and complexity, while a small percentage of Petit Verdot, planted on fine gravel, offers a hint of spice to the finish. 

The wine combines a unique elegance with the generosity and structure typical of the great vineyards of Pomerol. An attentive tasting reveals remarkable refinement, complexity, and a touch of violet. 

Image

Château La Fleur-Pétrus Pomerol, Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix

Aller au contenu principal
Image

Château La Fleur-Pétrus

Appellation

Pomerol

Surface plantée

18,7 hectares

Encépagement

91% Merlot – 6% Cabernet Franc – 3% Petit Verdot

Types de sols

Graves anciennes profondes, blanches ou argileuses

Télécharger la fiche technique

Château La Fleur-Pétrus est un des vignobles les plus réputés de Pomerol. Cette propriété historique, dont les parcelles étaient situées aux lieux-dits ‘Pétrus’ et ‘La Fleur’, prit son nom au 18e siècle. Jean-Pierre Moueix, établi depuis 1937 à Libourne, devina très tôt l’excellente qualité de l’appellation Pomerol. Le Château La Fleur-Pétrus fut sa toute première acquisition en 1950. Rapidement, il acquit également le Château Trotanoy en 1953.  

La personnalité du Château La Fleur-Pétrus réside dans l’association des grands sols de graves et d’argile du plateau de Pomerol. Le vignoble, situé de 33 à 38 mètres d’altitude, puise son identité dans les nuances de sols et d’élévation. Les parcelles à dominante graveleuse apportent une grande élégance, alors que celles à dominante argileuse produisent des vins veloutés, denses et structurés. 

Château La Fleur-Pétrus est composé principalement de Merlot, qui apporte souplesse et générosité. Les Cabernets Francs, plantés sur graves et argile fine, contribuent à l’ensemble par leur rigueur et leur complexité alors qu’un petit pourcentage de Petit Verdot, planté sur graves fines, apporte une touche épicée en finale. 

L’ensemble allie une élégance caractéristique du cru avec une générosité et une structure typique des grands vins de Pomerol. Une dégustation attentive révèle une finesse et une complexité remarquables avec un soupçon de violette.

Image

Château La Fleur-Pétrus Pomerol, Ets. Jean-Pierre Moueix